Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur
adipiscing elit. Etiam posuere varius
magna, ut accumsan quam pretium
vel. Duis ornare

Latest News
Follow Us

Route of the Seven Churches in Guayaquil

Throughout the province of Guayas, faith has played a dominant role in the people’s customs and traditions. As a predominantly catholic population, there is an ample offering of beautifully designed churches to experience. Follow along the Route of Faith to explore the amazing architecture, culture and religion that Guayas has to offer.

Within Guayaquil, there is the famed Route of the Seven Churches. During the year there are three different religious processions that visit the churches along this route. However, you are free to do this route anytime at your own pace.

Walking Map of the Route of the Seven Churches

San Jose Church

The San Jose Church was completed in 1926. It holds one of the most important alter’s in Guayaquil hand-crafted by an Italian sculptor. The Church’s tower houses three bells and a rosette stained glass window of eight petals.

The San Jose Church is open daily from 8AM to 6:30PM.

San Alejo Church

San Alejo Church is located across from the Montalvo park. The church operated as vice-parish since 1827 until it was canonically established in 1867. It is most well known for its historic relics crafted in the traditional Spanish style when Ecuador was still a Spanish colony.

The San Alejo Church is open daily from 8AM to 6:30PM.

Santo Domingo Church

The Santo Domingo Church is located in Colon Square, at the base of Santa Ana Hill. Built in 1548 it is the oldest church in Guayaquil. Its thick colonial walls and high vaulted ceilings invite you into a historic European architectural design.

The Santo Domingo Church is open daily from 7AM to 7:30PM.

San Agustin Church

This church, built out of concrete dates back to 1913 was completed in 1926. When entering the church you are surrounded by baroque style fixtures from the rounded arches at its dome down to the old polychrome ceramic floors.

The San Agustin Church is open daily from 7AM to 7:30PM.

La Merced Church

The original La Merced Church dates back to 1896 when it built with wood. However, it was destroyed the same year when the Great Fire of 1896 burned half of Guayaquil to the ground. The concrete church that stands to this day was finished in 1936, inspired by medieval cathedrals.

La Merced Church is open daily from 7AM to 7PM.

Nuestra Señora de los Angeles Church

The Nuestra Señora de los Angeles Church is locally known as San Francisco, as it was established by the Franciscans. As soon as you enter this massive blue and yellow church you will be drawn to the imposing marble altar with gold leaf moldings.

The Nuestra Señora de los Angeles Church is open daily from 8AM to 6:30PM.

Guayaquil Metropolitan Cathedral

The San Pedro Apostol Metropolitan Cathedral began its construction in 1924, but the two gothic towers were not inaugurated until 1956. When exploring the interior of the Cathedral, make sure to look up to enjoy the stained glass work of the upper apse.

The Guayaquil Metropolitan Cathedral is open daily from 7AM to 7PM.

Across the street from the Cathedral is Seminario Park also known as Iguana Park thanks to its abundance of iguana scattering around the trees and ground, especially on a sunny day.

Leave a Reply